Prejudices about Gothenburg Gymnasiums.

I have interviewed people in town and some students at IHGR and asked them about their prejudices, they have unleashed all their prejudices about the high schools in Gothenburg. The students that have been interviewed are:

Aida, Humberto & Foos

Anonymous, SP3a

Aida Hakimi, SP2B

Foos Ali, SP2A

Humberto De Armas, IB12


Which high school is IHGR’s greatest rival?


Anonymous: No high school, all the high schools in Gothenburg are really lame compared to IHGR!
Aida: Any other English speaking school, such as Engelska Gymnasiet. However, IHGR stands out because we are, as far as I know, the only international school governed by Gothenburg’s municipality. Hvitfeldtska’s IB program might be a big rival as well.
Foos: IT college.
Humberto: I guess Hvitfeldtska .

The high school with the best dressed / best looking students are:


Anonymous: I haven’t been at all the schools and seen the students, but IHGR will be damn far down. I don’t like brat high schools, Schillerska’s students seem to have a very nice style and students. Being well dressed is not by wearing expensive clothes, but by being interesting. The really interesting fashion styles are found in Schillerska.
Aida: I think I have to say Göteborgs Högre Samskolan. Every time I’m in that school it feels like I’m in the headquarters of Vogue Magazine or something. Even the teachers dress fancy.
Foos: IHGR undoubtedly.
Humberto: I would say somewhere in like Hovås.

The high school with the worst dressed / ugliest students are:

Anonymous: Definitely Munkebäck, I sound really shitty, but it’s true. Or Sigrid Rudebecks they only have M.U.F students there. Seriously, Munkebäck have so much ugly people that you have to close your eyes half the time you are there, The brats in Sam is too much “dad pays everything”, Rudebeck is a math geek and brat school and Hvitfeldtska are only dressed in MQ.
Aida:I don’t know. I can’t think of any high school that stands out because of their student’s ugly clothing style.

Which high school has the most motivated students?


Anonymous: Sigrid Rudebeck, I have heard that you become war wounded after going at that school.
Aida: Donner Senior High School is known for their ambitious and all student-MVG. However, I think we do a pretty good job here at IHGR.
Foos: IHGR.
Humberto: GTG.

Which high school has the least motivated students?


Anonymous: Burgården.
Aida: Any school with low admission points.
Foos: IHGR.
Humberto: Angered.

The people we asked had really different opinions about IHGR. IHGR is a weird high school, IHGR is too chill, and IHGR is a huge freak show and  have really hot chicks.

Here are some more associations:
Global. Love all the people in the world. International. Round. Africa. Odd. Girls. Be kind to everyone. English environment. English. Typical “American High School”. Immature. “Fjortis”. Players. Small criminal. Guys with invertebrate complexes. Soft. Great. Beautiful. Creepy building. Scary faces. Fun. Immigrant school. Wannabe American high school. Probably lame. Reality. Super chill. Revolting. Right wing stupid people. Hot girls. Amazing.

By: Sara Aman, SP2A

12 responses to this post.

  1. herpa derp

    Reply

  2. Posted by Majid Ahy on September 23, 2010 at 8:53 PM

    “Anonymous” should be NAMED so people from other schools reading this article know that his/her opinions are NOT reflected by the whole of IHGR.

    **Seriously, Munkebäck have so much ugly people that you have to close your eyes half the time you are there, The brats in Sam is too much “dad pays everything”, Rudebeck is a math geek and brat school and Hvitfeldtska are only dressed in MQ.**

    Seriously? Even for a prejudice view that’s a bit too far. Consider rephrasing your harsh statements if you plan on writing for the Itch again.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sara Aman on September 23, 2010 at 10:28 PM

    I can state that I am not “Anonymous” I just interviewed the person and her/ his prejudices and answers not MINE!!! I am not going to defend the person who answered these questions but I don’t think this person as we call Anonymous took these questions to serious and just joked around and as I said before it’s not my harsh statements. The person asked to be Anonymous and it clearly says in the article that I have interviewed some students at IHGR. NOT reflected by the WHOLE of IHGR.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Katja Slonawski on September 24, 2010 at 7:51 AM

    Let’s hope the anonymous person is a first grader, in that case it might be possible to forgive him/her.
    However, I really enjoyed the reading.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jamie Rinder on September 25, 2010 at 9:25 PM

    Very interesting interview! I’ve got to say that IHGR is the most positive workplace I’ve ever worked in – and, although this doesn’t always translate into homeowrk being done on time etc. (!!), I am really impressed by the students’ motivation and energy.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Majid Ahy on September 25, 2010 at 11:54 PM

    Sorry if i upset you Sara x) It wasn’t intended for you and I fully understand your defense. I am still very thankful for you writing this article because interviews do take a considerably longer time to make =]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Francisco on September 29, 2010 at 10:29 AM

    I thought it was pretty interesting and I guess it was smart for that first person to stay anonymous haha 😉

    Reply

  8. Posted by Bobbo on September 29, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    Students in Swedish schools compared to English speaking schools in Sweden are not really motivated compared to other countries like China. It makes people feel lazy and get bad grades. Sometimes teachers e.g. in Burgården give out MVGs for nothing to students who haven’t even studied hard. But if we’re gonna talk about the least motivated school in Gothenburg, then it would be Vinga-gymnasiet. I’m surprised that none of you mentioned that school! If you end up there, you might never come out after three years. I know people who have gone to that school and they’ve struggled to get out from there because they don’t learn anything. Teachers are supposed to help you to pass a class you’ve failed on in grundskolan, but instead they kill time by eating bullar and drinking kaffe.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Nassta on September 29, 2010 at 11:00 AM

    I don’t agree with the answers at all. I don’t think you can categorize a school in to ”the most motivated”, ”The best dressed/best looking students” etc. There are SO many different people in a school that it’s difficult to make these conclusions. That’s just wrong. And what’s good clothes? is it the latest fashion? I think that clothes that make you comfortable and that YOU like, not the society are the right clothes. something that looks good in my eyes might be the most ugly thing you have seen in your whole life, so who are you to decide that i have good taste in clothes i’m the one wearing it so let me make that decision.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

