The Never Ending Battle: Mac vs. PC.

Steve Jobs vs. Bill Gates

This is one of the everlasting issues of the internet, and the world. Many people debate whether Apple is better than Microsoft or vice-versa. The people can be divided into two categories, Mac people, and PC people.

Stereotypically, Mac people are those indie looking kids with tight pants, converse shoes and their CD collection ranges all the way from Sonic Youth to Queens of the Stone Age to Simon and Garfunkel, in the world of the internet, they are massively hated on with nicknames such as ‘macfag’ etc. On the other hand, PC people are thought of as those gamer kids who do nothing but play World of Warcraft on a Saturday night with a lifetime supply of raman noodles and soda. Those are the two main arguments of the people of the internet.

Macs give you a sense of individuality, are stylish, and have different applications aimed more towards the artistic side of people with editing programs such as Final Cut for films, Pro Tools for music editing, and Photo Booth which its only use is for people to post goofy pictures of themselves on facebook.  PC’s are more for the businessmen who like to keep track of their documents in a more stern and ‘traditional’ way, the gamer kids, and pretty much everyone else who doesn’t know what they really want in a computer.

The war started in 1976, when after only a year of Microsoft’s existence , Apple Inc. was founded. In the early years, Apple was nothing but the runner-up company to Bill Gate’s soon-to-be empire. Through the 80’s and 90’s Microsoft was the leading company. In the early 2000’s Apple started making a comeback with the new iMac and the creation of the iPod, a product that would change the way people listen to music, Microsoft however, was still the bigger industry. In recent years though, statistics showed that the value and popularity of Apple has surpassed that of Microsoft with a value 200 billion dollars, while Microsoft is worth 197 billion. Apple is no longer the underdog.

Regardless, the question still remains, Apple or Microsoft. Which one are you?

By: Humberto De Armas, IB12

9 responses to this post.

  1. “This is one of the everlasting issues of the internet, and the world. Many people debate whether Apple is better than Microsoft or vice-versa. The people can be divided into two categories, Mac people, and PC people.”

    No. They’re can be divided into two categories, Macfags and PCfags.

    Reply

  2. Once you go Mac, you never go back. ’nuff said.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah Ahassad on September 23, 2010 at 9:34 PM

    I haven’t had a PC since I was twelve, and I’ve relished every moment with my Macs. On a side note, Apple support is just the best support of all time. OF ALL TIME. And trust me, I was getting on the guy’s nerves, but he never stopped being polite and calm, even when I was freaking out.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Majid Ahy on September 26, 2010 at 12:38 AM

    PC fo lyfe! They go hard in the paint!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Francisco on September 29, 2010 at 10:38 AM

    Not a fan of the Macs

    Reply

  6. Never been much for Macs, the way I see it, Macs are only good if you have an interest for music and video creation, or if you are into proffesional photography. I think one of the arguements why people would rather get Mac was because Macs can’t get viruses, which I believe now has changed, if I recall some genius has finally created a virus that affects Macs. I always prefered PCs, because you can upgrade it, you can change sound cards and graphic cards. I.e I’ve had my current PC for over 6 years now, and it’s still a champ, I admit that I probably need to upgrade it, which I can, I don’t have to buy a new PC, just new parts to upgrade it. Also, what I dislike about Macs, are the price. The price is ridiculous, I’m sorry to say, but you can find a way better everyday/work/school laptop for less than what a Mac costs.
    PC all the way in other words.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Evgeny Abramov on October 5, 2010 at 12:30 AM

    Mac ideed does have the sence of idividuality by that I mean Apple inc. makes computers for them selves rather then microsoft is trying to give users better software and more abilitys. It’s like a new Ferrari 599XX you can buy it but you may not use it untill Mr Ferrari allowes you to, if they feel like it. It is truth. I’m a PC persone and I disagree that all of the gamers have NO life and play WoW (Non personal) but people play a lot of other games such as Call of Duty. Well indeed PC have better abilitys. Playing simulators or going craizy in GTA is also a big thing allover the world.

    Reply

Leave a comment